New Orleans trip…

For my “real” job, I’m lucky enough to get to go to some great places on business trips (as well as some not so great places…Orlando..uuuggghhh), and recently I headed down to New Orleans for a business event. In my free time, which totaled just a few hours, I rushed out to check out New Orleans; a place I had been dying to go to for a long time, and it’s design shops. I spent my breaks armed with my trusty camera, and walking shoes over on Magazine Street in the Garden District and wandering around the French Quarter. Both areas are fantastic and give you a peek into the unique culture of New Orleans.

French Quarter, New Orleans

Classic southern home in the Garden District

The first place I headed was to was Perch New Orleans, thanks to great tip from the DesignSponge city guides! This place did not disappoint! In fact, I really think it was one of the best design shops I have ever been in. I wish I had gotten a picture that captures the fantastic entryway of this store. When you enter the store, you are welcomed by a long foyer hung with 10-15 vintage chandeliers that are all just amazingly beautiful. Some worn looking, some beautiful murano glass, some modern, all beautiful. You know how Susan and I love a good chandy, so I was instantly smitten.  That is just the beginning of the styling of this lovely store. Below are a couple of shots I got in the store, but to really get the full feeling of the place, you MUST put this place on your list if you’re headed to New Orleans.

Perch Home - Hello my favorite ikat patterned cushions. Hi, artichoke lamp. I see you....

It was "pretty as a peacock"....

I knew I couldn’t leave without bringing something with me to remind me of this awesome store. So, this lil guy will be arriving on my doorstep soon. I’ll post where we eventually decide to hang him.

Perch Home, stag head

One of my other favorite stops while I was out and about was in the French Quarter, at a vintage consignment store called A to Z Consign It. This store was much more eclectic and not as beautifully styled as Perch, but had more reasonably priced wares, that were more of the culture you would envision old New Orleans having. I picked up two great items here, a beautiful brass soap dish and a great coral beaded necklace. I was known for the rest of the event as the girl with the orange necklace, because I don’t think I took it off after I put it on :).

A to Z Consign It's shop entrance

Overall, I loved the (short) time I spent in New Orleans, and would love to go back one day when I have more time. The culture is so unique and there is SO much more to see there than I was able to. There are many more design shops, art stores, and bars, than I could ever have imagined!

Have any of you been to New Orleans? Any shops that I should not have missed?

5 Comments

Filed under Travel

5 responses to “New Orleans trip…

  1. Hi! I just stumbled across your blog and it is so fun! I travel a lot for my job also and looooove when I get to go somewhere fun! Especially when I have time to check some things out!

    • twolovelyspaces

      Hi Paige! Yes, we love to have those opportunities too! Makes “real” work that much more fun! Hope you like the blog!

  2. Hey Lyn! It was so great meeting you during your visit to New Orleans. I love your blog! Thank you for featuring perch. Don’t forget to send us a shot of your stag-head in his new home when you can. We’ll post it on our blog.
    Come back and see us in nola soon.
    xo
    Caroline Robert
    owner
    perch.

    • twolovelyspaces

      Thanks Caroline! Once I get Mr. Stag hung, I’ll definitely send you a picture of it. Thanks again! You have a wonderful shop!

  3. Loved having you at the shop! Thanks for the shout out!
    xo xo

Leave a Reply

