A Place in the Shade…

Attempting to add some color to my black and white kitchen, I decided (with the help of my mom) that Roman Shades were the way to go. My first choice was this soft yellow lattice print “Tillinghast“from Rubie Green.

Rubie Green Fabric

I love Rubie Green products and the eco-consciousness of the company’s mission. I do however, have a budget for decor projects that I try to stay within. Considering the amount of yardage I needed for two Roman Shades, I decided I would pursue a more affordable fabric option. When I spotted this fabric from Calico Corners, I was over the moon. Almost an exact match to the pattern I had been inspired by!

The color was more marigold and a bit more vibrant so I went for it. I wanted the fabric to match my “Keep Calm and Carry On” poster I purchased from etsy which was made by Victoria Smith, author of the fabulous sfgirlbybay blog.

A view from my kitchen

Kitchen Window Before

Kitchen Window After

Laundry Room Window Before

Laundry Room Window After

I hope everyone had a wonderful weekend, I know I sure did. Look for a post from my trip to wine country this week. Relaxation was on the agenda, yet I did find some time to be inspired by casual California design. I have some great shots from one of my favorite restaurants. More to come on that.

Cheers, Susan

5 Comments

Filed under Decor

5 responses to “A Place in the Shade…

  1. Ali

    Love the new shades! Who made them? Yellow is such a happy color and a great way to brighten up your space especially with all the gloomy weather we’ve been having!

    • twolovelyspaces

      Calico made them, they have a bi-annual sale on fabric and construction, I waited for it to get the discount. Thanks for the sweet comment. 🙂

  2. Amy M.

    I love the shades. I think every kitchen should be required to have a little bit of yellow in it. Love love love it.

  3. I had to come and find your window shade that you mentioned in the comment about the ottoman. I love them both!

    -Rene

Leave a Reply

