Oh yes, it happened — Design Sponge in Portland recap!

Happy Wednesday everyone! I am so happy to report that the Design Sponge meet up in Portland was all it was cracked up to be! I headed over to Alder & Co right after work yesterday to check out the scene and meet some fellow bloggers and design lovers. I’d never been to Alder & Co and I have to say, I sure wish I had! It is the cutest shop, with the sweetest owner I’ve ever met. When we arrived, she was there to greet us with a sweet smile, southern accent, great conversation and delicious wine. What more could you ask for?! Alder & Co has a beautiful selection of items for the home, some sweet kids gifts, jewelry, clothing and handbags. I’ll tell you what, they had a seriously beautiful necklace and an awesome handbag that I really wanted to take home with me ( hint, hint, Mr. Boyfriend). They’ve only been open 2 months, but I see them sticking around for many more. If you’re in Portland, be sure to stop by their shop, it’s on 12th, right up the street from a Portland landmark restaurant, Jake’s. 

Besides being in the fantastic shop, the best part of this event was Grace Bonney herself!  She was so gracious and chatted with everyone who came up and talked to her. We stopped by and chatted with her and discussed her talks at the upcoming IDSA conference and BlogHer, which is in New York next week. She is excited about the evolution in design and media that is happening right now and feels really fortunate to be in the mix of it all. We talked with her about the state of print media and she said she’s especially excited about the i-Pad and the opportunity she hopes it can create for online magazines. She noted that during this time of real-time content and continuous exposure to the internet, the niche for print and online magazines will be to find the balance between original content and timeliness to market.   Finally, she said she just loves Portland and that it reminds her of her beloved Brooklyn, NYC. 

Unfortunately, I didn’t get a lot of great pictures from the event, but I did take a few on my i-Phone. I felt like a creep bringing my big camera in and nabbing shots of everyone at the event, just wanted to keep it a little more low-key for my first design event. Sorry blog readers! I promise to feel better about being a creep the next time. 

View of part of the shop and one of their table displays at the party

 

Beautiful paper mobile, made by one of the workers at Alder & Co. So sorry I didn't catch her name. I'll go back and update you with the right details!

 

Sparkly rugs. These were laid out in other parts of the store and were really beautiful. They added just a touch of glamour to a room.

 

Feather ornaments. These would look beautiful any time of year, but at the event we were chatting about how cool these would be on a Christmas tree. If I had all the money on the world, you can bet your bottom dollar this is what my tree would be decorated in next year.

Hope Design Sponge comes to your towns sometime soon too!

– Lyn

Leave a comment

Filed under Decor, Local Love

Leave a Reply

