A break, and other news

Hi All. We have been on a break, a long one. One month to be exact. Lyn has been crazy busy at work, and I have been crazy busy at life. A month ago, I decided to leave my job in product creation of 5 years, to pursue this blog full-time. I will also take on design work and projects on a part-time basis. I am super excited to have some more time on my hands to work on my own projects, as well as be available to help others with their home decor/improvement needs.

In other “big news” I just made a really important purchase. New dining room chairs. I have been spying/coveting these chairs for years and I finally saved enough to get them. (Also had some serious convincing to do with the Mister). Check out below and please understand that the dining room is a work in progress.

These are the Victoria Ghost chairs. I purchased from a local store here in Portland, Hive Modern. They were outstanding to work with, delivery was prompt and courteous. Before you freak at what I paid for the chairs, I have to explain the rest of the furniture in the space. The table was given to us by a dear family friend. (It is an antique Duncan Phyfe) We only paid to refinish the top, which I was told is rare Honduran mahogany. Score! The houndstooth parsons chairs were a housewarming gift from my mom and dad. Thanks! The solid wood antique hutch was $200.00, I purchased from a former co-worker when she upgraded to a larger piece. The mirror and chandy were given to us by my mother in law when we purchased the family home. So….really, I could splurge on my chairs. That is what I tell myself.

This room still needs:

1. An area rug. We have a lovely one we will most likely use, which belonged to my husbands Grandfather

2. Sconces on either side of the mirror, like below…

3. A fabric buffet table I previously blogged about here for the opposite wall, using fabric I already own.

Now that I have the time to get all my ideas in order, I will be regularly posting the progress. Hooray.

-Susan

3 Comments

Filed under Decor

3 responses to “A break, and other news

  1. Susan! My how I have missed you and Lyn! I’m so jealous you get to work on the blog full-time! So awesome. Let me know if you ever want to guest post on Restored Style or partner in any other way too:).

  2. Fun! This will fun to watch. I love your combined styles.

  3. Donna Fitch

    Hey Suz! Love the chairs! I got my Ghost chair from HIVE years ago…I pair it with my West Elm white lacquer desk! Hope all is well! XO!

Leave a Reply

